November: National Novel Writing Month

NaNoWriMo: This is my version of the NaNoWriMo madness. If I inadvertently sound like anyone else, I apologize. I’m joining this movement without really joining. And I’m doing it my way. Here’s my plan:

1. Write. Every day in November. I will sit in my desk chair at my computer and actually write.
2. Finish. My 50,000 word whatever will have a beginning, a middle, and an end. Completed in 30 days.
3. Focus. Writing my 50,000 word mystery shall be my primary job for 30 days.
4. Reward. At the end of November, I’m a winner! If you join me and complete your task, you’re a winner also!
5. Caveat 1. A 50,000 word manuscript falls short of the acceptable length for a full-length novel.


Shelby123 “… a perfect weekend read. k.a.libby describes each character in such a way, you feel as if you know them yourselves. …The person whom you suspect to be her “stalker” may be obvious; the twists and turns of her character description leads you elsewhere. Looking forward to the sequel!” All reader comments and ratings at http://www.amazon.com. (Search on “Beware the Sleeping Dog”)



6. Caveat 2. Thus my 50,000 word something will really be a draft of my first draft.
7. Caveat 3. Alas. November is the beginning of the end of the year celebrations. How will I ever enjoy my daughter’s visit and prepare a celebratory Thanksgiving feast and WRITE? Translation: I really must write a 50,000 word manuscript in 20 days. Sigh.
8. Caveat 4. I must also continue to market “Beware the Sleeping Dog” and post on my blog with some kind of regularity. Yikes!
9. Caveat 5. I cannot take a 30-day leave of absence from work for NaNoWriMo.
10. Caveat 6. I must take time to work-out. I cannot afford to let myself go for a month because it’ll take 2 months to get back on track. At least two months, perhaps even four. Remember beach-time (translation: bathing suit!) in the Bahamas in January. 
11. Can I really do this? Sure. It’ll be … fun?
12. Remember: 50,000 words in a month do not a novel make. Like the aging of a fine wine, it takes time to develop its complexity and to hone its distinctive flavor.
13. A beginning. NaNoWriMo is a means to an end. I will write 50,000 words in November … more or less. Then for the next 11 months, I will rewrite. Rewrite. Rewrite.
14. Are you game?
15. Am I crazy? No, I’m just a normal driven, high-on-words writer.

Leave a Reply

