Working on my final draft … I hope!

I am working on (what I hope is) my final draft of Let Sleeping Dogs Lie, before I submit my manuscript to prospective agents.

 I created a checklist to assist me in my final draft process, and I added a caution about verb tenses to it. But I am my own worst task master, and I didn’t stop with my critiquers’ advise. I added a dizzying array of items for measurement against my own critical yardstick: pithiness, character thrust, appropriate use of italics versus quotes, show don’t tell, page turners, consistent plot threads, and POV, while keeping an eye on a catchy sales pitch (query letter). Help!

 I’ve experienced a lot of what I consider “spinning my wheels” over the past three years, but in the process I am learning! I believe each day I am a little better at what I am doing than I was the day before.

 My advice to anyone who aspires to writing a novel: write on!

4 thoughts on “Working on my final draft … I hope!

    • Eileen, thank you for your continuing support and expertise. I’ve tried to write a novel which would sweep the reader down a path of intrigue and culminate in a satisfying ending. I hope it meets that criterion for you! Karla

      Like

    • You’re so right … There’s always changes, corrections, enhancements. Before you know it, you’re writing the next story instead of finishing the current one.

      It’s nice to hear from you. Thanks for your encouragement.

      Like

Leave a Reply

